Improving Writing & Reading Skills

6a00d8341d417153ef010536594bb1970b-800wiSource: http://www.vs1008.com/2013/02/text-slang.html

In terms of entertainment genre, I believe the improvement of writing & reading trend is irrelevant because people don’t use or practice their writing and reading skills through entertainment. However if a person promotes their company via YouTube (i.e. beauty blogger), they need to speak properly. Hence, writing, reading, and speech go hand in hand so it does affect it that aspect. For example, if I promote my brand through YouTube, I need to speak in proper English and correctly so my audience understands me and takes me seriously. Overall, improvement of writing and reading trend does not affect the entertainment genre, unless people use YouTube to promote their brand.

            Again, I personally don’t think anything unexpected happen with the improvement of writing and reading trend for the entertainment genre. Entertainment deals with services that provide online movies, TV shows, music, etc. Henceforth, people don’t practice their writing and reading skills through the entertainment genre.

internet-text-message-slang-trivia-quiz-main-300x213

Source: http://www.teen.com/2013/06/28/quizzes-personality-trivia-teen-girls/random-quizzes/internet-text-message-slang-trivia-quiz/

Now the social media genre is a completely different situation. When people started texting, they abbreviated words and used “slang.” Thus, I believe the improvement of writing and reading trend is very inaccurate for the social media genre. For example, Twitter is a social media platform that only allows a certain amount of characters in a post. Because of this, people abbreviate and use slang in order to express their thoughts in one post. I personally am guilty of this bad habit. For instance, my notes for this project are all abbreviated. That being said, I try my hardest to text and post in full sentences and in proper English because I want people to take me seriously. Additionally, employers look at my every move on social media. If they see I post statuses or tweets in slang, they’ll take that into consideration when it comes to hiring me.

For obvious reasons, a decline of writing and reading skills are expected from the social media genre. If I go through Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, most of the posts will be in slang. This affects our generation because people are adapting to using slang instead of proper English. This is the only statement I agree with: if a person’s profession involves social media, it challenges that person to use proper grammar to promote a brand online. For example, I work in the social media department at the Zimmerman Agency and I have to create Twitter copy and content for different brands. My biggest challenge is coming up with creative copy that has a certain amount of characters and using proper English. However other than that example, I believe the social media genre does not help with writing and reading skills.

Leave a Reply

